Sri Lanka Women leave for Asia Cup T20 : Skipper Hasini confident team will perform well | Daily News

Sri Lanka Women leave for Asia Cup T20 : Skipper Hasini confident team will perform well

Sri Lankan skipper for Asia Cup T20 Hasini Perera addressing the media at SLC headquarters yesterday. Women’s cricket coach Hemantha Devapriya, SLC secretary Mohan de Silva and SLC CEO Ashley de Silva are also present. Picture by Rukmal Gamage


Sri Lanka women’s T20 captain Hasini Perera assured that her team will perform well according to their game plans during the forthcoming Asia Cup T20 championship in Bangkok, Thailand.

At a press briefing held prior to the team’s departure to Thailand at SLC yesterday,

Hasini, the 21-year-old skipper praised her senior players for being very supportive to her and said that the selection committee has given her a very talented side.

The Lankan lasses will play under the guidance of their coach Hemantha Devapriya for the first time overseas.

Devapriya shared positive comments on the team and said: “This tournament is a great opportunity to determine our standard at Asian level. We have identified our weaknesses, strengths and areas that need to be fine tuned during the recently concluded England ODI series. I hope the team will perform well,” he said.

Three senior players who missed the England series due to injuries, pace star Udeshika Prabodhini, opener Yasodha Mendis and all-rounder Ishani Lokusuriya have been recalled to the squad.

This is the second occasion the women’s Asia Cup is being conducted in T20 format. India will try to defend the title which they won in China in 2012.

The women’s Asia Cup began with a five-match ODI series between India and Sri Lanka in 2004 where India whitewashed us 5-0. India retained the crown in 2005-06 beating Sri Lanka by 97 runs in the final. India continued their dominance and emerged winners for the third consecutive time when they beat Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in the 2006-07 final. The first T20 Asia Cup in 2012 saw Sri Lanka, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Thailand, Hong Kong and Nepal battling for supremacy.

The Sri Lanka team left for Bangkok early morning today to take part in the second T20 women’s Asia Cup where six nations will fight it out from November 26 for the title.

Sri Lanka women’s T20 squad: Hasini Perera (captain), Prasadini Weerakkody (vice captain), Chamari Atapattu, Sripali Weerakkody, Sugandhika Kumari, Dilani Manodara, Nilakshi Silva, Nipuni Hansika, Inoka Ranaweera, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Ishani Lokusuriya, Yasodha Mendis, Hansima Karunaratne, Ama Kanchana and Udeshika Prabodhini. 

Add new comment