Hendahewa bags triple crown at Summer Season Badminton | Daily News

Hendahewa bags triple crown at Summer Season Badminton

Men’s Open Singles champion Buwaneka Gunathilake receiving the trophy

Thilini Hendahewa clinched a triple crown while Buwaneka Gunathilaka grabbed a double when the annual Nuwara Eliya Summer Season Badminton Championship 2017 came to a close at the Nuwara Eliya Municipal Indoor Stadium recently.

The reigning national champion, 20-year-old Hendahewa beat Kavidi Ishadika in a thrilling women's open final (21/16, 16/21, 21/16) and also teamed up with the same opponent to defeat Hashini Ambalangoda and Dilmi Dias in the doubles final. Hendahewa clinched her third gold in Nuwara Eliya when she teamed up with Sachin Dias and got the better of Rajitha Dhahanayake and Nadeesha Gayanthi in a three-setter (18/21, 21/10, 21/10) mixed doubles final.

Gunathilaka also showed his impressive form to win the men's open crown when he defeated Sachin Dias in a closely contested final.

The two opponents were seen playing for the same side in the men's doubles and they eventually went on to win the title easily by overcoming the duo, Imesh Hasaranga and Vibhavi Madhusha in a straight set final (21/8, 21/13).

Over 485 shuttlers were in action during the six-day event which saw 615 matches and 26 events being conducted.

The matches were played on rubber carpets and it was the first time such surfaces was used for cooler weather conditions. The high profile tournament which has a history of 20 years was organised by the Central Province Badminton Association (CPBA) under the patronage of Sri Lanka Badminton Association (SLBA) with the assistance of Nuwara Eliya Municipal Council. The tournament turned out to be a great success due to untiring efforts of the CPBA secretary Chamara Aluthge and his team.

Mclarens Group chairman Rohan De Silva was the chief guest at the award ceremoney while former Nuwara Eliya Mayor and CPBA president, Mahinda Dodampagamage was the guest of honour.

Champions and runner-ups:

U-11 girls singles - winner - Ranithma Liyanage, Runner-up - Chiranya Jayawardena

U-11 boys singles - winner - Reshan Dimbukkwalage, Runner-up - Hiruka Sahanmith

U-13 girls singles - winner - N. Nagahawatta, Runner-up - Maneesha Jayawardena

U-13 boys singles - winner -Sanjana Dewasurendra, Runner-up - Manthuka Rupathunga

U-15 girls doubles - winners - Yeheni Kurruppu/Aishwarya Ravichandran, Runner-ups - Manuji Mithara/Heshani Palihakkara

U-15 girls singles - winner - Yeheni Vonara Kuruppu, Runner-up - Suhasni Vidanage

U-15 boys doubles - winners - Dumindu Abeywickrama/Thenuka De Silva, Runner-ups - Sethum Perera/Savinaka Weerasekara

U- 15 boys singles - winner - Dumindu Abeywickrama, Runner-up - Chaniru Manmitha

U-17 girls doubles - winners - Nadara Gunawardena/surani wickramasinghe, Runners-up - Hansima Ashirwadi/ Nivarthi Wijewardena

U-17 girls singles - winner - Dilmi Dias, Runner-up - Nadara Gunawardena

U-17 boys doubles - winners - Dunshan Hettiarachchi/Kakolya Silva, Runner-ups - Deegayu kahatapitiya/Kakindu Ranaweera

U-17 boys singles - winner - Praveen Bhanuka Abeysinghe, Runner-up - Rasindu Hendahewa

U-19 girls doubles - winners - Geethmi Abeyratne/ Hasini Ambalangodage, Runner-ups - Kavindya Ratnadasa/ Amali Samaranayake

U-19 girls singles - winner - Hasini Nushaka Ambalangodage, Runner-up - Hasara Wierathna

U-19 boys doubles - winners - Lakindu De Silva/Radith Milana, Runner-ups - Movindu Halloluwa/Nilanka Randilukshan

U-19 boys singles - winner - Ranthushka Karunathilake, Runner-up - Viran Anusanga Perera

Over 50 men’s singles - winner - Crishantha Dodampa Gamage, Runner-up - Adrian De Lima

Over-40 men’s doubles - winners - Dharshana Senarathne, Kamal Gamlath, Runner-ups - Subash Janaka, Roshan Neththasinghe

Over-40 men’s singles - winner - Dammika Wanigasekara, Runner-up - Dharshana Senarathne

Over-35 men’s singles - winner - D.D. Kaluarachchi, Runner-up - Dharshana Sampath

Open mixed doubles - winners - Sachin Dias/Thilini Hendahewa, Runner-ups - Rajitha Dhahanayake/Nadeesha Gayanthi

Open women’s doubles - winners - Thilini Hendahewa/Kavidi Ishadika, Runners-up - Hashini Ambalangoda/Dilmi Dias

Open women’s singles - winner - Thilini Hendahewa, Runner-up - Kavidi Ishadika

Open men’s doubles - winners - Sachin Dias/Buwaneka Gunathilake, Runner-ups - Imesh Hasaranga/Vibhavi Madhusha

Open men’s singles - winner - Buwaneka Gunathilake, Runner-up - Sachin Dias 


Add new comment