President chairs progress review meeting of independent commissions

President Maithripala Sirisena chaired a progress review meeting of independent commissions which were established under the 19th Amendment to the Constitution at the Presidential Secretariat on Wednesday.

The chairpersons, secretaries and members of the Public Service Commission, Elections Commission, National Police Commission, Audit Commission, Sri Lanka Human Rights Commission, Finance Commission, Delimitation Commission and National Procurement Commotions participated at the discussion. They examined new suggestions, opinions, ideas and problems about the commissions.

The President advised them to prepare a methodology to ensure activation of the work of the commissions. The President stressed the importance of passing the Bills, including the Audit Bill.

Secretary to the President P. B. Abeykoon also participated. 

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.

Or log in with...