‘JVP shedding crocodile tears about Parliament prorogation’ | Daily News

‘JVP shedding crocodile tears about Parliament prorogation’

Political analysts are pointing out that the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) who did not talk anything about proroguing Parliament when they were in Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumaratunga’s government, is now shedding crocodile tears because they have become ardent supporters of the United National Party.

They also point out that JVP who has no proper understanding of the Constitution is causing a commotion to fulfill their own political agenda, while the President has acted within his powers and furthers that appointing Mahinda Rajapaksa as the Prime Minister and proroguing Parliament have both been done within the powers vested by the Constitution to the President.

The political critics also state that the way JVP is acting, as if nothing happens according to the Constitution, which in fact the opposite, is utterly hilarious. They also state that JVP are seeking UNP support in an attempt to win one or two more seats in Parliament because they are politically up the creek without paddle.

In the history of Sri Lanka Parliament, this is not the first time that Parliament was prorogued but the 42nd time. According to the Information Department, from 1947 to 1978 it has been prorogued at 21 times and from 1978 to present 21 times. Accordingly Sri Lanka Parliament was prorogued for the first time in 31 January 1948 which lasted for 10 days.

“According to Parliament’s history, the most number of times that Parliament was prorogued was under then President J.R.Jayewardene rule. From 1978 to 1988, Parliament was prorogued on seven occasions of which four times have been for over four months,” the Information Department points out.

Under President R. Premadasa, Parliament has been prorogued on four occasions and on three of these occasions the House was prorogued for nearly a month. Then, under President Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumaratunge Parliament was prorogued on five occasions. Interestingly, the longest period of prorogation was also reported under her term.

Under President Kumaratunge, Parliament was prorogued for 26 days, from July 10, 2001 to September 2001. Under President Mahinda Rajapaksa, Parliament was prorogued on three occasions.

The shortest prorogation time is also reported during Rajapaksa’s term, which is two days.

Furthermore, the lowest number of prorogation period is recorded during the term of President Maithripala Sirisena. From last April 12, to May 8, Parliament was prorogued for 25 days and from October 27 to November 14, it has been prorogued for 17 days.



Add new comment