Nishantha Perera wins Open cycle race | Daily News

Nishantha Perera wins Open cycle race

Top three winners with officials
Top three winners with officials

Nishantha Perera of Dehiwala Mount Lavinia Municipal Council won the Open Standard Cycle Race conducted by the Kaduwela Vihara Mawatha Ekamuthu Youth Association in collaboration with the Colombo District Cycling Association for the seventh time.

Chathura Madhushan and Buddhika Warnakulasuriya won the second and third places respectively. Suranga Ranaweera completed the race at fourth.

The race started near Vihara Mawatha and continued through Malambe, Athurugiriya, Godagama, High Level road, Awissawella, Aheliyagoda to Ratnapura and returned on the same rout to Hanwella. It Proceeded through the Old road to reach the finish at Kaduwela Vihara Mawatha covering a distance of 158 kms. Altogether 112 cyclists participated in the race. Western Provincial Councillor Maj. Pradeep Undugoda and organizing committee members delivered the starting orders at 10.20 am.

The winner was awarded Rs 80,000 cash award while the second and third places too received Rs 60,000 and Rs 40,000 cash awards. Fourth and fifth places were awarded Rs 15,000 each. Rs 10,000 each were awarded to sixth to tenth places while 11th to 20th places were awarded Rs 7,500 each. 21st to 30th places too awarded Rs 5000 each. 


Add new comment