Tholangamuwa wins big match by 4 runs | Daily News

Tholangamuwa wins big match by 4 runs

The 8th Big Match (50 overs game) between Tholangamuwa Central and Galahitiyawa Central was played on 1st of March 2019 at Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium, witnessed by over six thousand spectators who traveled all the way from Gampaha and Kegalle.

Tholangamuwa taking the 1st lease of wicket scored 207 runs which is a record score for this Big Match series, thanks to their captain Sithum Wickramarachchi who played a captain’s innings of 71 runs with six 45 and one six supported by his vice captain Kavishka Krishan who scored 48 runs unbeaten with 5 x 45 and 2 x 65 in 58 minutes. Their batting was revolting round the above two batsmen as Galahitiyawa fielders couldn’t capitalize on the chances given by the batsmen.

Galahitiyawa chasing this record target set by Tholangamuwa met with unexpected tragedy as their inform top opening batsman were ruled out LBW for no score. Captain Isuru Tharaka and Manujith Ravishan repair the damage with a 48 runs partnership, soon Isuru was run out at score reading 2 for 48 runs. The other top order batsmen Sandaruwan Chinthake, Manujith Ravishan and Thisara Randika were all out for LBW decisions.

At One stage score reading 85 runs for six wickets in over 28. The Match was expected to windup early but a determined, cautious contribution was made for the seventh wicket between Minsara Sadupa 48 and Buddhika Kamesh 21, converted to a record partnership of 78 runs for any wicket in this series, induce some hopes of challenging thistarget. The later order batsmen too contributed some valuable scores but eventually surrendered 4 runs short of this 207 target in 50 overs. Tholangamuwa register their 3rd victory by four runs.

The crowd was on their toes during the last four overs cheering and shouting for their respective sides as the match poising for any one’s game. Afantastic atmosphere was present as both sides did very well to create this rare close finish.

Both sides suffered due to some poor umpiring decisions. Out of the 15 wickets fallen on that day seven were LBW decisions other than that it was a great match.

Chief Scores

Tholangamuwa - 207 for 6 at close? (Sithuma Sanjana ?- 71, Kavishka Krishan ?- 48)

Galahitiyawa - 203 for 9 at close (Manujith Ravishan ?- 25, Isuru Tharaka ?- 19, Minsara Sadupa ?- 48, Osara Sadeepa ?- 18, Yasitha Rashmika ?- 16)


Add new comment