SL, EC committee meet to curb illegal migration | Daily News

SL, EC committee meet to curb illegal migration

The fifth meeting of the Joint Readmission Committee between Sri Lanka and the European Community was held at the Foreign Ministry in Colombo on Monday, a statement from the Ministry said.

The meeting was co-chaired by Additional Secretary (Multilateral Affairs) Ahmed A. Jawad of the Ministry and the European Commission Directorate-General for Migration and Home Affairs (DG-Home) Deputy Head of Unit - Irregular Migration and Return Policy, Dan Rotenberg.

The agreement between the European Community and Sri Lanka on the Readmission of Persons Residing without Authorisation, was signed on June 4, 2004, and entered into force on May 1, 2005.

It was part of an initiative to combat illegal migration and was also an indication of the commitment of the Sri Lankan government and the European Community to combat all forms of organised crimes. The agreement also guarantees the safe and orderly return of illegal migrants and failed asylum seekers back to their country of origin.

The discussions were held in a cordial atmosphere with both parties pledging support in fulfilling the obligations under the agreement, the statement said.

As provisioned in the agreement, the Joint Readmission Committee deals with issues pertaining to the operationalisation of the provisions of the Readmission Agreement, including the implementation of its provisions with the European Union Member States.

The Parties exchanged information on the implementation process of the Agreement, statistics with regard to returnees, return and reintegration support, skilled migration and the readmission policy of both Sri Lanka and the European Union.

On a proposal made by the Sri Lanka delegation, the potential for enhancing Sri Lanka’s presence in the European Union skilled labour migration market was explored. Already a significant number of Sri Lankan migrant workers are employed in the European Union member states.

The Sri Lanka delegation comprised of senior officials from the Foreign Ministry, Immigration and Emigration Department Controller General M.N. Ranasinghe and senior officials from the Immigration Department, along with Sri Lanka Bureau of Foreign Employment Deputy General Manager R.K.K.M.P. Randeniya.

The European Commission delegation consisted of the European Union delegation in Colombo and the European Centre for Returns (Frontex). Representatives from member states including the Netherlands, Germany, France, Romania and the United Kingdom were present as observers.


Add new comment