St. Mary’s confront Ananda Sastralaya in 56th Korale Hatana | Daily News

St. Mary’s confront Ananda Sastralaya in 56th Korale Hatana

The annual 56th Cricket encounter popularly known as “Korale Hatana” between St. Mary’s College, Matugama and Ananda Sastralaya Matugama will be played on 15 th and 16 th of March at Matugama esplanade.

This is the oldest cricket match played in the Kalutara district and the first match was played in 1963.

Out of the fifty five encounters so far played, Matugama Marians are leading with 12 wins and Sastralians 2 and all other matches have ended in draws.

Both schools have a proud history not only in education but also in the sphere of sports especially in cricket.

St. Mary’s team consists of several impressive players and is led by Sanjula Krishan Fernando who has scored more than 500 runs this cricket season. Lahiru Dilshan who is also an impressive player is the vice captain. Another star batsman is Namal Madusanka who has scored 160 runs against Gonsalvez College, Pamunugama.

This team is coached by Dinesh Sanjaya. The present principal Miss P.A.C. Priyadarshani is taking every effort to uplift the standard of cricket at St. Mary’s with help of two Masters-In-Charge Major A. Ratnapala, Miss T.T. Adikaram and the old boys of the school.

Ananda Sastralaya is also looking for a victory this time and Sastralaya is led by Ravindu Udawatta.

The vice captain is Ulindu Prabashwara. The principal Randunu Jayalath is also devoting his time for the well being of the team.

The team is coached by Harsha Ashen and the two Masters-In-Charge are Palitha Dissanayake and Lasitha Wijesinghe.

Teams -

St. Mary’s team: Sanjula Krishan (Captain), Lahiru Dilshan (Vice Captain), Theekshana Liyanage, Kalindu Hansaja, Namal Madusanka, Tilina Chamod, Kovindu Wickremasinghe, Naveen Devinda, Heshan Welgama, Pasindu Dilshan, Isura Deshan, Hiran Lakshitha, Pasindu Malshan, Chamod Kalindu, Eranda Gimhana, Aveesha Tasheen, Harsha Sandaruwan, Himesha Madubashana.

Ananda Sastralaya team: Ravindu Udawatta (Captain), Ulindu Prabashwara (Vice Captain), Kavindu Anjana, Enula Avishka, Sithum Deshan, Thilina Dananjaya, Pasindu Bashana, Dilsara Pramod, Chathura Lakmal, Shehan Hirudika, Sahan Vithana, Kavindu Theekshana, Shehan Pasindu, Yasiru Dilhara, Oshan Chandima, Lekshan Kavinga, Madura Malshan, Niroshan Gamaethige, Chamara Madusanka. 


Add new comment