Rajans- Kingswood clash for Tennakoon Shield | Daily News

Rajans- Kingswood clash for Tennakoon Shield

The Dharmaraja Cricket team of 2019.
The Dharmaraja Cricket team of 2019.

The Battle of the Maroons, the Big Match in Kandy between Dharmaraja College and Kingswood College, for the 113th year will be played on the 15th & 16th March 2019 at the Pallekelle International Cricket Stadium. It is played for the TB Tennakoon Memorial Shield presented by his Son, Janaka Bandara Tennakoon, former Rajans allround sportsman & the former Minister of Lands, now a Member of Parliament. His father was the former Minister of Social Services in the Sirimavo Bandaranaike Cabinet.

Of the 112 encounters played so far, Dharmaraja has won 35 encounters while Kingswood

has won 19 matches. 58 encounters have ended in draws. In the long history of this much looked forward to Cricket encounters Senaka Dissanayake of Dharmaraja holds the record for the only double century scored with a knock of 200 runs in the 1983 match. He created another record to become the 1st batsman to score a double century at Asgiriya Grounds.

For Kingswood the highest scorer has been Clifford Ratnavibhushana who made 167 in 1959.

Speaking about this cricket encounter there has been many Veterans in the Game who have figured in the Big Match in the past years with centuries for Dharmaraja. There has been P.L.Arthur Alwis – 121 in 1942, T.B.Talwatte – 104 in 1942, A.L.de Alwis –

109 not out in 1945, P.B.Munasinghe – 108 in 1951, Chandra de Silva – 158 in 1952, R.J.K.Gunasekera-105 in 1954. Siri Ranasinghe – 112 in 1966, N.Yatigammana – 112 not out In 1970, D.Vithanage – 100 in 1970, Ajith Narannpanawa – 127 & 120 in 1975 & 76 respectively, Dananjaya Navaratne – 109 in 1979, Senaka Dissanayake-200 in 1983,Prsanna Walalawala – 103 not out in 1983, Prasanna Dissanayake 103 not out in 1985, Chanakya Kulatunge – 112 in 1987, Rukshan Suriarachchi – 113 in 2006 and he became the centurian of the 100th encounter.

Hockey Great, Fredie White scored the first century for Kingswood in 1949, followed by Mahinda de Silva who made 132 in 1951, Asoka Perera – 148 in 1952, Maurice Fernando-101 in 1957, Clifford Ratnavibushana – 167 in 1959, Tissa Jayathillake – 100 in 1966, Priyantha Wickremasuriya – 127 & 116 in 1976 & 1977 respectively, D.S.Sherifdeen – 100 in 1981, Mangala Dharmaprema – 120 in 1984.

This season Dharmaraja has registered 1st innings victories over Ananda,Maliyadewa,

St.Aloysius,Galle, and registered an outright win over St.Mary’s, Kegalle and they lost on 1st innings to Nalanda, DS Senanayake, St.Thomas’ Mr.Lavinia, Nalanda, & Mahinda.

They were coached by former Sri Lanka Poolist U.S.C.Perera(who also played for Nomads & SSC in the Premier League) and assisted by Chatura Wickremanayake,former Kandy District

Cricketer. Master-in-Charge & POG is Saliya Samarawickrema, an old Boy of the School.

Kingswood College has 2 outright wins i.e. S.de S.Jayasinghe Vidyalaya & Asoka Vidyalaya. 1st innings wins over St.Thomas’ Matale, Lost on 1st innings to St.Anthonys, Vidyartha,

Karandeniya Central, & Thakshila, Horana and lost outright to St.Peters. Prasad Ranawaka, Former St.Anthony’s cricketer is the Coach, assisted by Harsha Udana, former Dharmaraja Cricketer and the Cricket Consultant is Malcolm Perera(former Director-Coaching SL Cricket. The writer had the privilege of leading the Dharmaraja team in the 1965 Big Match in which Dharmaraja won by an Innings & 43 runs.

Dharmaraja team – Sachintha Senanayake(Capt.3rd year player has scored over 400 runs as the opening batsman. Kasun Gunawardena-4th year has scored over 450 runs. Dulaj Bandara- Scored more than 630 runs. Chethiya Ekanayake-3rd year player. Isuru Dayananda-scored more than 600 runs.Right arm Leg spinner. 3rd year player. N.Dilshan – 3rd year player. Y.Samararatne- 3rd year. V.Ehelepola- 2nd year. M.Gayashan – 3rd year. S.Siriwardena-Fresher, U.Warnakulasuriya -3rdYear player.Has claimed 45 wickets. T.Herath; C. Marasinghe,M.Eriyagama, C.Weerakoon,D.Pathiraja,J. Gunatunge, D.Ratnayake and P. Herath.

Kingswood team – Digayu Bandara – Capt. 3rd year player. Fine allrounder. Hasika Gamage- Vice Capt. Uthpala Jayalath – Opening batsman & right arm Medium pace bowler. Dewinda Dissanayake- Right arm Off spinner. Lakmal de Silva, A.Bogodawatte, D.Damishka, A.Seneviratne, G.Saluwadana, K.Pananwala, V.Pussapitiya, M. Bandara, A.B.Ratnayake,

H.Wickremasinghe, A. Ratnayake, C.Wijesundera, M.Hettiarachchi, K.Anthony,M.Ediriweera, M.Rajapakshe, & N.Weerasekera. 


Add new comment