Royal Colombo emerge champions | Daily News
Singer U-19 Div. II Inter Schools 2-day cricket final:

Royal Colombo emerge champions

Victorious Royal College U-19 team with the trophy
Victorious Royal College U-19 team with the trophy

Royal College Colombo emerged champions of the ‘Singer Trophy’ Under 19 division 11 inter schools 2 day cricket tournament when they posted a first innings win over St. Anthony’s College Kandy in the final played at Colts grounds yesterday.

St. Anthony’s College Kandy won the toss and elected to bat were bowled out for 266 runs in 88.5 overs. Sri Lanka Youth cap Kalhara Senarathne scored unbeaten 102 runs in 173 balls with 13 boundaries. Asitha Wanninayake (32), Thamashana Abeykon (31), Mohommed Kameel (27) helped to build their innings. Kalhara Senarathne and Mohommed Kameel made 69-run stand for 7th wicket. Kalhara and Nimnaka Jayathilake made 53-run stand for the last wicket.

Manula Perera took 3 wickets for 50 runs and Kamil Mishara took 3 wickets for 73 runs. Kavindu Pathirathne took 2 wickets for 33 runs.

Royal College Colombo were bowled out for 314 runs in 84.3 overs. Top order batsman Ahan Wickramasinhe scored 116 runs in 148 balls with 11 boundaries. Bhagya Dissanayake scored 91 runs in 153 balls with 11 boundaries. Pasindu Sooriyabandara scored 52 runs. Ahan Wickramasinhe and Pasindu Sooriyabandara made 93-run stand for 4th wicket partnership. Ahan Wickramasinhe and Ishiwara Dissanayake made 76-run stand for 2nd wicket. Bhagya Dissanayake and Manula Perera made 71-run stand for 9th wicket. Nimnaka Jayathilake took 5 wickets for 119 runs and Thamashana Abeykoon took 2 wickets for 20 runs.

Both teams were promoted to division one tournament from next season.

St. Anthony’s: 266 in 88.5 overs (Kalhara Senarathne 102 n.o., Asitha Wanninayake 32, Thamashana Abeykon 31, Mohommed Kameel 27, Manula Perera 3/50, Kamil Mishara 3/73, Kavindu Pathirathne 2/33)

Royal: 314 (26/1 o/n) in 84.3 overs (Ahan Wickramasinhe 116, Bhagya Dissanayake 91, Pasindu Sooriyabandara 52, Ishiwara Dissanayake 13, Kavindu Pathrathne 10, Nimanaka Jayathilake 5/119, Thamashana Abeykoon 2/20). YK


Add new comment