Old Rajans SC going great guns | Daily News

Old Rajans SC going great guns

At the halfway stage in the ongoing Kandy District Cricket Association one day 50 over cricket tournament, Old Rajan’s Sports Club find themselves in a good footing in the “D” group, they have played three games against Black Eagle Cricket Club, Galagedera Cricket Club and Ekamuthu Sports Club and won all three games and have one more first round game against University Cricket Club, which is on October 4 at Lake View grounds. They are heading the group “D” with 12 points.

In the first game they beat Galagedera Cricket Club by four wickets. In this game Galagedera CC won the toss and elected to bat at Gampola Wickramabahu College grounds and went on to score 71 lossing all the wickets in 17.5 overs. D. Dushantha 32 (25 balls two fours and two sixes). Sadeepa Rathnayake captured 3 for 10 and Thushan Herath 2 for 4. In reply Old Rajans Sports Club made the winning target in 18.4 over’s with four wickets intact. Chethiya Weerakoon 35, Sumil Ranasinghe 20. A. Kalpitiya 3 for 29 S. Arampath 2 for 17

In the second game Old Rajans beat Black Egale Sports Club by 109 runs at Prisons grounds Pallekelle. Black Egale SC won the toss and invited the Old Rajans Sports Club to bat first. They made 210 for 9 in 50 overs with Janith Gunatunga 67, Chethiya Weerakoon 39, Chinthaka Nishantha 33, and Sumil Ranasinghe 21. E. Bandara 4 for 46 and S. Rajaguru 2 for 34 were the top bowlers for Black Eagles. In reply Black Eagle S.C. were all out for 101 in 26.5 overs. S. Eriyagama 25. Chinthaka Nishantha 5 for 15 and D. Herath 2 for 08.

In the third game beat Ekamuthu Sports Club by 9 wickets at Lake View grounds. Old Rajans won the toss and elected to field first and bowled out Ekamuthu Sports Club for 93 runs in 29.2 overs. Anjana Dikkumbura 5 for 17. Old Rajans SC in reply made 94 for 1 in 9.2 over’s - Muditha Wijekoon 57 n.o. Chinthaka Nishantha 35.

The Old Rajans SC squad comprises players like Sumil Ranasinghe – (Captain), Muditha Wijekoon, Chinthaka Nishantha, Janith Gunathunga, Thushan Herath, Chethiya Weerakoon, Kaweesha Weerawansha, Maleesha Rajakaruna, Sadeepa Rathnayake, Dulara Bandulasena, Malith Hapuarachchi, Pulindu Perera, Anjana Dikkumbura, Isuru Pannala, Praveen Rathnayake, Indula Ranasinghe and the side is coached by Upesh Wijesiri.