Ranjan Lasantha de Silva cricket coach par excellence | Daily News


Ranjan Lasantha de Silva cricket coach par excellence

Former Devapathiraja College, Ratgama Cricketer, Athlete, left hand middle order bat, right arm off spinner, Daily News and Donavan Andree Trophy Cricketer Kalinga Ranjan Lasantha de Silva is the present cricket coach of his Alma Mater.

He commenced his schooling at Vijaya Junioir School, Boossa and from there he joined Sri Sumangala Vidyalaya, Ratgama and finally ended up at Devapathiraja College, Ratgama.Devapathiraja commenced participating in the under 13, 15 and 17 division three tournaments conducted by Sri Lanka Schools Cricket Association in 1999.

During this period Ranjan was playing for Combined Cricket Club Ratgama in the division three Daily News Tournament and volunteered to do coaching in 2000 at his Alma Mater free of charge for under 13 and 15 teams and the under 17 team was coached by Mr. Krishan. In the same year he passed the Coaching Level One Examination and in 2002 he coached under 13, 15, 17 and 19 teams in the division three tournaments.

Ranjan was able to win three championships and four runner ups in all these formats and from 2015 Devapathiraja were playing in Division One tournaments in all these formats and his assistant is another Devapathirajian Mahesh Sandaruwan. During the last two decades he was able to produce top cricketers in various formats.

Their first ever test and limited over player was Tharindu Kaushal who played in the 2015 World Cup and Virwantha Thisila de Silva represented Sri Lanka in a Twenty20 game in South Africa. In the under 19 Sri Lanka level Umesh Maduranga, Tharindu Kaushal and Dilshan Kanchana too represented.

In the under 15 level Umesh Mayurakantha, Raveen Yasas and Pathum Madusanka toured MalaysiaDilshan Kanchana became the first ever player from Devapathiraja to score a triple century when he notched up 319 runs against President’s College, Maharagama and Dilshan Kanchana, Raveen Yasas, Jeewaka Shasheen hit up double centuries while Tharinsu Kaushal claimed 100 wickets for a season in three successive years.