Southern, North Warriors cruise to final | Daily News


Inaugural Army Commander’s T20 League

Southern, North Warriors cruise to final

Southern Warriors and North Warriors with three wins each, entered the final of the inaugural Army Commander’s T20 League Cricket Tournament,which continued at the Army Grounds in Dombagoda yesterday.

However, the first-round match between Southern Warriors and North Warriors had to be abandoned due to bad weather in the morning.

In the second match of the day, Eastern Warriors beat the Western Warriors by seven runs.

Southern Warriors will meet North Warriors in the final at the Gajaba Regiment Cricket Grounds in Saliyapura, Anuradhapura on October 17.

The results of Army Commander’s T20 League:

Southern Warriors: 130/4 in 15 overs (Dinesh Chandimal 53 n.o, Priyantha Rathnayake 34, Asantha Basnayake 20, Seekkuge Prasanna 2/19) vs North Warriors.

Eastern Warriors: 131/6 in 16 overs (Kusal Mendis 44, Sandun Weerakkody 30, Yashodha Mendis 3/26, Dhammika Prasad 2/19)

Western Warriors: 124/8 in 16 overs (Lakshan Edirisinghe 37, Pethum Kumara 24, Sanjeew Coomaraswamy 3/23, Asela Gunarathne 2/28). (YK)