Nigel to lead Kandy SC once again | Daily News


Nigel to lead Kandy SC once again

Kandy Sports Club is dominating Sri Lanka Rugby and it is clearly evident that it has a unique Record of registering victory in the Annual Clifford Cup League Rugby Tournament as well as the Knock-out Tournament for more than 10 years. After Covid – 19 Epidemic was controlled in some areas of the Country the Champion Rugby team of the Kandy Sports Club started

practicing every Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Friday for four days a week during evening hours under the guidance of Fazil Marja assisted by Buddhika Talagampola at the Nittawela Rugby Grounds. About 35 players are coming for regular practices altogether and among them are Nigel Ratwatte, Roshan Weeraratne,Srinath Sooriyabandara, Jason Dissanayake, Lavanga Perera to name a few.

An Old Boy of Trinity College,Kandy Nigel Ratwatte is Captaining the Rugby Team of the Kandy Sports Club for the second successive year and he is also the present Captain of the Sri Lanka Rugby Sevens team. Nigel learnt the basics of the game of Rugby when he was at Trinity and later on left to South Africa in the year 2001 and joined the King Edwards School in Johannesburg and continued playing Rugby which is his pet game. After returning from South Africa he played for CR & FC as Fly-half and crossed over to Kandy SC and he is a regular Player in the Kandy SC for the last six years before becoming the Captain of the Team.