Six more political parties recognized | Daily News

Six more political parties recognized

The National Election Commission (NEC) has recognized six more political parties in Sri Lanka for 2020. The newly registered political parties are Pivithuru Hela Urumaya, Sinhala Ravaya, Arunalu Janatha Peramuna, Peoples Servant’s Party, New Democratic Marxist Leninist Party, and Samathuva Kachchi.

Applications were called for the recognition of political parties in January 2020 by a public announcement and 154 applications were received. Following a preliminary examination of the applications, interviews were conducted for 121 applications and at the conclusion of the process the above political parties were chosen, the Commission explained in a media statement.

The Political parties have been registered by the National Election Commission in terms of the powers vested in the Commission under Section 7(4) and (5) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 01 of 1981