Northern Speed Rally to kick-start 2021 racing calendar | Daily News

Northern Speed Rally to kick-start 2021 racing calendar

Action from the 2019 Northern Speed Rally.
Action from the 2019 Northern Speed Rally.

Sri Lanka Automobile Sports (SLAS), the National Controlling Body for automobile sports in Sri Lanka, has lined-up as many as 14 top motor racing events in their domestic calendar for the season of 2021.

Most of their leading racing events schedule for 2020 were disrupted due to the Coronavirus pandemic and therefore, they were able to conduct only the Eliyakanda Hill Climb this year.

“Even though motor racing is not a contact sport, competitions were not held as schedule because we could not obtain the racing tracks belonging to the tri-services,” a high-ranking official of the SLAS told the Daily News yesterday.

“We are hoping that the health situation in the country would return to normal by early next year, so that we could commence the racing events in February,” he pointed out.

“We have put out a schedule of 14 events for next year and if everything works out well according to plans then we should be able to complete the season by end of November,” he further explained.

Many of the top drivers and riders in the country starved of any competition this year, but the new season is set to kick-off with the second annual Northern Speed Rally in Jaffna.

The inaugural edition of the Northern Speed Rally in 2019 turned out to be a successful event, which was also the first ever city-based rally test held in Sri Lanka with a spectacular nighttime display of speed and car control.

The focus would then shift to the Colombo Super-Cross Meet, which will be followed by two of the biggest racing events in the country: the Mahagastota Hill Climb and the Radella Hill Climb.

The racing calendar would then reach the climax with back-to-back events where the Fox Hill Super-Cross and the Walawe Super-Cross are scheduled to be worked off during mid-season.

The other major racing events to be worked off in 2021 are the Sigiriya Rally Cross, Cavalry Super-Cross, Katukurunda Circuit Meet, Gunners Super-Cross, Commando Super-Cross, Gajaba Super-Cross, Mullaitivu Speed Rally, Rotherham Katukurunda, and the Negombo Speed Rally.