Lanka Premier League set to start on November 26 | Daily News

Lanka Premier League set to start on November 26

Colombo Kings will take on the Kandy Tuskers of the 2020 Lanka Premier League (LPL) franchise-based Twenty20 Cricket Tournament curtain raiser match under the new schedule on November 26 at the Mahinda Rajapaksa Stadium in Hambantota.

Earlier, the tournament was set to start on November 27 but the organisers of the event, Sri Lanka Cricket and the IPG Group yesterday decided to bring forward the event by one day.

In another major development to the tournament, Dambulla Hawks Franchise changed their name to Dambulla Lions and also redesigned their team logo alongside the Kandy Tuskers.

The inaugural tournament will feature five teams namely, Colombo Kings, Dambulla Lions, Galle Gladiators, Jaffna Stallions and Kandy Tuskers.

Each team will compete in eight games during the first-round phase while the four teams that will lead the points table will advance into the semi-finals.

Each squad consists of 20 players with a maximum of six foreign players while the starting XI should include a minimum of three and a maximum of four overseas players. The rest of the seven players will consist of local players.

A total number of 30 foreign players from across the world are set to play in the tournament with a host of high profile international cricketing stars ready to take part in this year’s edition.