Bid to revive rugby in the Central Province | Daily News

Bid to revive rugby in the Central Province

The CentralProvince Rugby Football Union is keen to bring back rugby to its former position at provincial level, when the corona virus says good bye. This CPRFU union is headed by former Trinity, Outstation schools, Combined schools. Kandy SC and Sri Lanka forward Pradeep Basnayake and secretary is Kavinda Jayasena who too played for Trintiy, outstation schools,Combined Schools, Kandy SC Havelock SC and Sri Lanka.

They have planned to put the game back in the Central Province when the green light is given after all sports activities had come to a halt due to the corona virus.

The Central Province Rugby Football Union is the governing body for rugby union in Central Province, which was established in 1992 and is conducted in accordance with the Sri Lanka Rugby guidelines and constitution.

At its peak in 2002 the CPRFU included top clubs Kandy SC, Dimbula A & CC, Dickoya Maskeliya CC, Peradeniya University, OTSC and Kandy Youth, all of whom have at one time or another competed in the SLRFU ‘A’ Division competition.

The CPRFU also embarked in forming ‘B’ division clubs, which includes Katugastota Rugby Football Club,Polgolla Rugby Football Club, Mawilmada Rugby Football Club, Matale Rugby Football Club, Nuwara Eliya Rugby Football Club and Pilimatalawa Rugby Football Club and by 2008 had 18 clubs playing in the up-country rugby league.

There are 52 schools in the Central Province engaged in rugby including top schools like Trinity, Kingswood, St.Anthony’s, Dharmaraja, St. Sylvester’s, Sri Sumangala, Sri Rahula and Vidyartha.