Brendan Taylor or Sean Williams to replace Chris Gayle at LPL | Daily News

Brendan Taylor or Sean Williams to replace Chris Gayle at LPL

Brendan Taylor-Sean Williams
Brendan Taylor-Sean Williams

Zimbabwean cricketers Sean Colin Williams or Brendan Ross Murray Taylor will come in as replacement player for Kandy Tuskers ‘(KT), after their key player Chris Gayle pulled out from the Lanka Premier League(LPL) tournament due to a hamstring injury. LPL will be worked off from November 26 at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium (MRICS) in Hambanthota.

Chris Gayle who was originally selected from the player draft held few weeks back, sidelined due to a hamstring injury while a practice session in Dubai after the Indian Premier League tournament (IPL). He will be out of action for three weeks.

The Kandy Tuskers team officials are in touch with Sean Williams and Brendan Taylor to confirm their availability in order to contract one of them and it will be finalized today.

Sean Williams is a Zimbabwean international cricketer, who plays all formats primarily as a batting all-rounder. In September 2019, Zimbabwe Cricket named him as Zimbabwe's captain, after Hamilton Masakadza retired from international cricket. Brendan Taylor is a Zimbabwean international cricketer and a former Zimbabwean captain, who plays all formats of the game. Taylor is a right-handed batsman but is also an off spinner.

Meanwhile, the KT’s other four overseas players Sohail Tanvir - the Pakistani left arm seamer, Munaf Patel - former Indian fast bowler, Naveen-ul-Haq - the prolific all-rounder from Afghanistan and Irfan Pathan - another all-rounder from India have joined them and are in the health bubble at their official hotel in Hambanthota.

The KT is led by the dashing Sri Lankan all-rounder Kusala Janith Perera and they will play against the Colombo Kings in their curtain raiser match on the November 26, at 19.30 under lights. (AN)