Krishan bags men’s singles title | Daily News
Maheepala Herath Trophy Table Tennis Tournament

Krishan bags men’s singles title

Krishan Wickremaratne receives the Maheepala Herath Challenge Trophy from the chief guest, State Minister Kanaka Herath
Krishan Wickremaratne receives the Maheepala Herath Challenge Trophy from the chief guest, State Minister Kanaka Herath

Old Vidyarthian Krishan Wickremaratne clinched the men’s singles title beating the school lad from Ananda College, Colombo, Senura Silva after a closely contested final 12/10, 11/6, 6/11, 11/9 in the annual Maheepala Herath Challenge Trophy All Island Table Tennis Tournament worked off at the Kegalle Municipal Council indoor stadium on Sunday. It has been an exciting action packed day at the Municipal Council indoor stadium where the men’s segment of the annual tournament was worked off. Both Krishan and Senura maintained an impressive record throughout the tourney. Young Senura showed his TT prowess at a tender age and is a recipient of a sponsorship by Crysbro under the “Next Olympic Hope” programme initiated by the National Olympic Committee of Sri Lanka.

Champion Krishan defeated Milinda Lakshitha of OMBC Solutions Private Ltd 11/8, 11/9, 14/16, 17/15 in a fiercely contested semi -final while Senura entered the semi finals edging out Chameera Ginige from University of Sri Jayawardenapura 11/5, 11/6, 12/10.

Senura Silva receives the runner-up trophy from the chief guest

Altogether 103 players participated in the tourney and Sports Minister Namal Rajapaksa made a special visit to the venue to witness the reactivation of the game and praised the efforts taken by Minister Herath and his team to resume the sport in the country.

The Table Tennis Association of Sri Lanka, spearheaded by its president Kanaka Herath, State Minister of Plantations, launched an ambitious programme to conduct all the 2020 tournaments that could not be held due to the covid19 epidemic. The minister is also the president of the Kegalle District Table Tennis Association.

State Minister Kanaka Herath was the chief guest at the finals and distributed certificates to players who reached quarter finals onwards and gave away the challenge trophies to the winner and runner-up.

The champion and runner-up received cash prizes apart from the trophies.

Saman Ratnayake – Commissioner of Elections, Sameera Perera – VP Kegalle TTA and Member of the Municipal council, Chandana Srinath – Secretary TTASL and Jagath Jayasinghe – Chairman, Kegalle Provincial Council were also present.