Eagles and Broncos win matches on day 1 | Daily News
Inaugural Gnanam Paints Champions Trophy at Jaffna

Eagles and Broncos win matches on day 1

Chundikuli Eagles and Nallur Broncos won the matches on day One of the Inaugural Gnanam Paints Champions Trophy at St. Patrick’s College Jaffna on Saturday

This tournament is conducted by Gnanam Paints Company Ltd Jaffna with sponsors Nippon Paints Ltd, IBC Tamil, Kiruba Learners and Everythinghere.lk with collaboration of theJaffna District Cricket Association.

10 teams named Aggressive Boys, Ariyalai Killadikal, Chundikuli Eagles, Chullipuram Vikings, Jaffna Panthers, Jaffna Royals, Kokuvil Stars, Nallur Broncos, North Conquerors and Vadamarachchi Vengaigal in Jaffna Peninsula play this tournament.

Opening ceremony of the Gnanam Paints Champions Trophy was held on Saturday at the same venue. First round will be played in two groups on a league basis. Four matches will be played by each team. 20 matches will be played in the first round. First round matches played from 30th January to 14th February. Two teams of each group will qualify to the second round.

Group ‘A’ winner will meet Group ‘B’ winner and Group ‘A’ runner up will meet Group ‘B’ runner up in the second round on 20th February. Loser of the match between Group ‘A’ winner and Group ‘B’ winner will meet winner of the match between Group ‘A’ runner up and Group ‘B’ runner up on 21st February. Final is scheduled for 28th February at the same venue.

Group A - Chundikuli Eagles, Jaffna Royals, Ariyalai Killadikal 100, Vadamarachchi Vengaigal, Chullipuram Vikings

Group B - Nallur Broncos, Aggressive Boys, Kokuvil Stars, North Conquerors, Jaffna Panthers

On 30th January

Match No 1 - Chundikuli Eagles won by 2 wickets. Vadamarachchi Vengaigal: 71 (18.1) (D.R. Bibetrick 17, P. Brinthapan 3/18, Murfin Abinsah 2/9, Vasanthan Jathushan 2/12) Chundikuli Eagles: 73/8 (19.2) Mufrin Abin19 n.o., S. Arunakrinathan 18, S. Saampawan 2/7)

Match No 2 - Nallur Broncos won by 9 runs. Nallur Broncos: 119/8 (20) (D. Poobalagham 43, K. Rasaraththinan 23, N. Nirushikan 3/11, K. Kapilraj 2/29) North Conquerors: 110 )(18.2) (K. Jayakumar 29, S. Thiventhiram 26, S. Paramanathan 25, Thavarasa Pratheep 3/9, D. Poobalasingham 2/13) (YK)