Four-member Technical Advisory Committee appointed | Daily News

Four-member Technical Advisory Committee appointed

Minister of Sports Namal Rajapaksa has appointed a new four member technical advisory committee.

The committee was appointed to provide advise to the Sports Ministry officials, Sports Minister and to the President of Sri Lanka Cricket.

Accordingly, Former Cricketer Aravinda de Silva has been appointed as the Chairman of the Committee.

Former Sri Lanka cricketers Roshan Mahanama, Muttiah Muralitharan, and Kumar Sangakkara are the other members of the committee.


Aravinda heads new Cricket Advisory Committee

Other members include Mahanama, Murali and Sanga

The Minister of Sports and Youth Namal Rajapaksa appointed a four-member Technical Advisory Committee to the Ministry which would look into the development of Sri Lanka cricket.

Former Sri Lanka batting great Aravinda de Silva will head the Technical Advisory Committee which would also include teammates, Roshan Mahanama, Muttiah Muralitharan and Kumar Sangakkara.

The primary role of this Technical Advisory Committee would be to advise the Sports Minister, Ministry officials and the National Sports Council on all matters related to Sri Lanka cricket.

De Silva, Man-of-the-Match at the 1996 Cricket World Cup final, has earlier served on few occasions as a member of the cricket committee of Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) under several administrations.

In addition, he was also a former Chairman of the National Cricket Selection Committee.

This four member Technical Advisory Committee has the task of working closely with SLC in order to uplift the standard of cricket both domestic and international, thereby ensuring and including a sustainable high standard of cricket in Sri Lanka.

The Sports Minister has nominated this committee to SLC to be considered for appointment as a cricket committee under SLC in addition to their appointment to the Ministry.

The Technical Advisory Committee: Aravinda de Silva (Chairman), Roshan Mahanama, Muttiah Muralitharan and Kumar Sangakkara.