Ravi, six others released in alleged trespassing case | Daily News

Ravi, six others released in alleged trespassing case

Colombo Fort Magistrate Priyantha Liyanage yesterday ordered the release of six suspects including former UNP MPs Ravi Karunanayake, R. Yogarajan, Ajith P. Perera and Samagi Jana Balawegaya MP Nalin Bandara from a case  filed against them for allegedly trespassing into the Sri Lanka Nidahas Sevaka Sangamaya premises (Port Authority) in 2014.

The complaint had been lodged by the Nidahas Sevaka Sangamaya after a group of UNP Parliamentarians went on a fact finding mission at the Sri Lanka Ports Authority (SLPA) premises on October 21, 2014.

The Colombo Fort Magistrate made this order pursuant to the Attorney General’s advice not to proceed with further legal action against the suspects. The Slave Island Police conducting investigations into the incident had sought the Attorney General’s advice regarding the incident. Counsel Sajitha Jayawardena appeared for former MP Ravi Karunanayake.