‘Five towns in Matara to be developed soon’ | Daily News

‘Five towns in Matara to be developed soon’

Five main towns of Kamburupitiya, Devinuwara, Akuressa, Kotawila and Yatiyana in the Matara District would be developed with all infrastructural facilities under the urban town improvement project, Power Minister Dullas Alahapperuma said.

He made these observations at the monthly coordinating development committee meeting at the Thihagoda Divisional Secretariat Office auditorium.

Minister Alahapperuma noted that there are over 118,000 households in the country without electricity. Of them, 33 families are in the Thihagoda Divisional Secretariat (DS) division. The provision of power to all of them before the end of this year is the objective of the Government.

He said 100,000 solar panels are planned to be installed on rooftops of Samurdhi beneficiary families.

Thihagoda Pradeshiya Sabha (PS) Chairman Nirmal Samarasinhe, PS member Susil Karunathilake and state officials participated.