TMVP takes control of Vakarai Pradeshiya Sabha | Daily News

TMVP takes control of Vakarai Pradeshiya Sabha

The Vakarai Pradeshiya Sabha which was hitherto controlled by the Tamil National Alliance (TNA) has been taken over by the Tamil Makkal Viduthalai Puligal (TMVP).

Kannappan Ganeshan of the TMVP was elected Chairman of the Vakarai Praseshiya Sabha on Thursday (11).

Seven Local Government Bodies in the Eastern Province were to have new Chairpersons according to the Gazette Notification of January 29, 2021 by Eastern Province Governor Anuradha Yahambath. Accordingly, the Commissioner of Local Government Nagaraja Manivannan conducted the election.

The Vakarai Pradeshiya Sabha has 18 members. Fifteen members were present at the time of voting where 12 voted in favour of the new Chairman and 3 voted against.

The Chairman was elected uncontested. The members who voted in favour were TMVP-05, Sri Lanka Freedom Party-02, United National Party-02, Tamil United Front-02 and Tamil United Liberation Front-01. The members voted against were TNA -02 and the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna.

The newly elected Chairman and his supporters were garlanded and congratulated by the Leader of the TMVP and Parliamentarian Sivanesadurai Chandrakanthan.

Meanwhile, The Eravur Urban Council that was controlled by the UNP had passed hands to the Muslim National Alliance (MNA). Only the MNA members were present at the time of the election. M. S. Naleem has been elected as the new Chairman and he was the only man proposed for the post.

After the election, the new Chairman said that he will not be an obstacle to any development programme brought in by any politician for the area and he will not be making use of any council vehicle, payments and privileges of the council for his personal use.

The Eravur Urban Council consists of 17 Political and Independent party Muslims and Tamil members. Six members including the former Chairman Ramlan Abdul Wazeth were not present for the election of the new Chairman.

In addition to the election for the Chairman of the Manmunai Pattu Pradeshiya Sabha, Arayampathy was not held on the order of the Batticaloa High Courts and postponed.