Writ petition seeks new Constitution for SLC | Daily News

Writ petition seeks new Constitution for SLC

The Court of Appeal today issued notices on Minister of Sports, President of Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) and several others, returnable for March 15 in connection with a writ petition filed seeking an order to formulate a new constitution for SLC.

Court of Appeal two-judge-bench comprising Justice (President) Arjuna Obeysekera and Mayadunna Corea made this order consequent to writ petition filed by a group of prominent individuals including former professional cricketer Muttiah Muralitharan.

The petitioners are; Muttiah Muralitharan, Kushil Gunasekera, Sidath Wettimuny, Michael Tissera, Justice (Retd) Saleem Marsoof PC, Dinal Phillips PC, Rienzie Wijetilleke, Thilan Wijesinghe, Vijaya Malalasekera, Ana Punchihewa, Somasundaram Skandakumar and Dr. Palitha Kohona. The petitioners were represented by President's Counsel Sanjeewa Jayawardena.