New Sri Lankan Embassies in Spain, Romania - Minister | Daily News

New Sri Lankan Embassies in Spain, Romania - Minister

Foreign Minister Dinesh Gunawardena said approval has been granted for the establishment of Embassies in Spain and Romania.

The Minister addressing Parliament’s Consultative Committee on Foreign Ministry, also announced to the Committee that approval has also been granted to establish a Consulate General office in Madagascar and to establish diplomatic relations with Liechtenstein.

Though the country’s foreign policy may have debates within, Minister Gunewardena said everyone must unite under one voice when representing the country internationally. The Minister stated that many countries including India represent their nation in one voice when in international platforms despite differences domestically.

Gunewardena stated that he is hopeful that all parties will unite in representing the country’s foreign policy internationally as one nation.

 At the Committee, when taking up the last meeting’s progress regarding the repatriation of Sri Lankan refugees in India, a concern raised by MP Charles Nirmalanathan, Foreign Secretary Admiral Prof. Jayanath Colombage stated that there are a number of camps for asylum seekers in India.

He stated that more than 50,000 asylum seekers are in the camps of Tamil Nadu. He also pointed out that there are also people outside these camps whilst measures have been taken to repatriate a considerable number back to Sri Lanka.

Whilst stating that the Indian Government is providing food, shelter, medication, education and the basic needs and welfare for the refugees they are also being monitored by Sri Lanka’s Deputy High Commission in Chennai. The matter is also being followed on a priority basis by the Foreign Ministry amid the COVID-19 pandemic situation. MP Dr. Suren Raghavan thanked the Foreign Minister’s efforts.

When inquired regarding the progress governing the presence of Indian fishing vessels in the Sri Lankan waters and its impact upon the local fishermen, the Minister stated that a special discussion will continue with the Indian Embassy in resolving the matter.

The Ministerial Consultative Committee was attended by State Minister Tharaka Balasuriya and MPs Harsha de Silva, Dilan Perera, Dr. Suren Raghavan, Chandima Weerakkody, Gamini Waleboda, Yadamini Gunawardena, Charles Nirmalanathan, Sivagnanam Shritharan, Diana Gamage, Shanakyan Rasamanickam and Foreign Ministry officials.