CoI to study Customs | Daily News

CoI to study Customs

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa appointed a five-member Commission of Inquiry (CoI) to study the prevailing situation of Sri Lanka Customs and make recommendations on increasing its efficiency.

This Commission has been entrusted with making recommendation to streamline the Department while preventing any irregularities.

Supreme Court Judge Shiran Anthony has been appointed as Chairman of the Commission while Appeals Court Judge Priyantha Fernando, High Court Judge Damith Thotawatte, Deputy Governor of Central Bank K.M.M. Siriwardhane, Senior Consultant (Trade) Dr. Sanath Jayanetti and former Director General of Customs P.A. Dias will serve as its Members.

The Commission has also been directed to obtain the opinions of the public, Customs trade unions and other stakeholders.