Kingswood a well balanced team | Daily News

Kingswood a well balanced team

Kingswood College cricket team this year is led by Dumindu Bandara , a third year coloursman, who is a stylish batsman and his deputy is Anul Seneviratne another top batsman .Kingswood College is blessed with a good coach and a well-balanced side. They not only possess a formidable batting line up but also a penetrative attack and are determined to give of their best this year.

This time the lads from Randles Hills are fortunate to have the services of Haladeen Mohammed Rikaz as coach. He learnt his cricket at St.Anthony’s College, and is one of the finest cricketers to come out of that school..He is doing his best to help Kingswood cricket regain its past glory. He has years of experience in the coaching field and has been coaching since 2019. He has played for Kandy District and Central Province teams, Tamil Union Cricket and Athletic Club and for Kandy cricket club .

In the past they have produced several top class teams and cricketers . The year 1962 was one of their finest years in which they won several matches and beat Trinity College for the first time. , Their big match is against Dharmaraja College Kandy

In1958, Maurice Fernando, brought honour to Kingswood when he was unanimously chosen as the Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year and their last win in the big match was under him in 1958. The others who have excelled for the Kingwoodains at cricket are Owen Mottau whose team comprised of S.B. Elikawela, D. Perera, M.H.Marikar, A.H.M. Gazaly, A.Dodanwela, H. Perusinghe, S.G. Jayasundera, L. H de Silva, S. Corteling, D.Mahindadasa, D. Aluwihare and Lionel Sirisena. The other outstanding cricketers are Shelton Perera, Herbert Jayasuriya, Clifford Ratnavibushana, Derrick Schokman, M. Nizar, J.Mendis, D. Wickremasuriya, Ajith Gannoruwa, Lakshman Galwaduge, Wijaratne brothers Tissa and Lalith, Jerome Gray,Faiz Samad, Mangala Dharmaprema (the 1985 captain who scored a double century against Vidyartha College), Hilmy Gafoor, Nazar Razak (who represented the Sri LankaYouth Team in 1987), Gayan Fernando, H.N.T.Gamage and Tuan Azari Miskin.

Kingswood College cricket squad this year - Dumindu Bandara – captain, Anul Seneviratne - vice captain, Mahasen Ranasinghe - wicket keeper ,Mahasen Abeykoon, Chamuduka Abeyratne, Asiri Ekanayake, Hasintha Polkotuwa, Mayuranga Rajapaksha, Ameesha, Pasindu Doolwala, Hasanga Ratnayake, Ashen Vitharana, Ravindu Bandara, Dilmin Dissanayake, Ganuka Saluwadana, Pamod Rajapakse , Ashen Ratnayake, Coach Halimdeen Mohammed Rikaz -, MIC NalinRatnnayake.

This year’s tournament fixtures are against PDSKularatne College Ambalangoda in Kandy, and the second game is with Royal College Panadura away, third game with Henegama MMV away, fourth game with Kegalu Vidyalaya in Kandy and the fifth game with Sri Rahula College Kandy followed by the big match with Dhamaraja College.