11 extremist organizations to be banned | Daily News

11 extremist organizations to be banned

Attorney General (AG) Dappula De Livera had yesterday granted permission to the Inspector General of Police (IGP) to ban 11 extremist Muslim organizations in response to a request made by the IGP, AG’s Coordinating Officer State Counsel Nishara Jayaratne said.

Accordingly, the AG had given permission to ban “United Thowheed Jamaath (UTJ), Ceylon Thowheed Jamaath (CTJ), Sri Lanka Thowheed Jamaath (SLTJ), All Ceylon Thowheed Jamaath (ACTJ), Jamiyyathul Ansaari Sunnaththul Mohomadiya (JASM), Dharul Adhar @ Jamiul Adhar, Sri Lanka Islamic Student Movement (SLISM), Islamic State of Iraq and Syria (ISIS), Al-Qaeda, Save the Pearls and Super Muslim”, she said.

Previously in the aftermath of the Easter Sunday attacks, three organizations namely “National Thowheed Jama’ath (NTJ), Jama’athe Milla’athe Ibrahim (JMI) and Willayath As Seylani” were banned in 2019 under the Prevention of Terrorism Act.

The ban on them will continue.