First Sri Lankan appointed as CPSC Director General | Daily News

First Sri Lankan appointed as CPSC Director General

The Colombo Plan Staff College (CPSC) in Manila, the training arm of the Colombo Plan headquartered in Sri Lanka, for the first time in history, has appointed a Sri Lankan, Prof. Ganemulle Lekamalage Dharmasri Wickramasinghe, as its 12th Director General. He assumed the post on September 1, 2021.

Prof. Wickramasinghe, an accomplished and award-winning educator, brings with him his stellar experience in the field of technical and vocational training and education which he has acquired over a period of time in Sri Lanka to the TVET system of the Colombo Plan. He is a Bachelor of Science graduate in Textile Engineering with first class honors from the University of Moratuwa. He obtained his doctorate degree at the University of Manchester, a PG Certificate in Learning and Teaching, from the University of Arts London, UK and an MBA from the University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Sri Lanka.

As the new Director General, he will be responsible for representing the CPSC in its engagements, ensuring that its vision of becoming an “intergovernmental TVET leader for sustainable development” will be carried out to its member countries and partner organisations in the Asia-Pacific Region. He will also act as the President of the Asia-Pacific Accreditation and Certification Commission (APACC).

The CPSC is an autonomous specialized agency of the Colombo Plan established in 1973. This institute is a unique Inter-Governmental Organisation (IGO), which constantly addresses issues in Technical and Vocational Education & Training in Asia and the Pacific Region. CPSC has 26 member countries classified as charter and current members. There are 16 active member countries (Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Fiji, India, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand), 12 charter member countries (Australia, Cambodia, Canada, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, South Korea, Laos, New Zealand, United Kingdom, USA, Vietnam).

Add new comment