Sachin Chamuditha a fine all rounder from Panadura Royal | Daily News

Sachin Chamuditha a fine all rounder from Panadura Royal

Royal College Panadura Runner up of the All Island under 19 Division Two Tier ‘B’ 2020 posed for a photograph with the school officials just after the finals.  
Seated in front (L/R) – Milinda Fernando (Captain), Ayesh de Silva (Head Coach), Shiyan Fernando (Assistant Coach), Mrs.Priyanka Kothalawala (Principal), Mrs.Gayangi Samaranayaka (Vice Principal), Suren Kodagoda (Master in Charge of Cricket), Chathuranga Silva (Assistant Coach), Sachin Jayasinghe (Vice Captain). Centre Row (L/R) – Senura Nilan, Hasantha Warunajith, Kaveesh Adithya, Rushmitha Thilina, Naveen Chandupa, Jayod Chamara, Bathiya Sathsara, Johan Methushel, Kaveesha Perera  

Back Row (L/R) – Heshan Nissanka, Yasith Pramodya, Himesh Thiran, Santush Gunathilleke, Lashen Saranath, Rusith Jayawardene, Ihansa Nuwanidu  (Picture by Dilwin Mendis Moratuwa Sports Special Correspondent). 

Cricketer, under 13 and 15 Captain, under 19 Vice Captain, District and Provincial Player, Member of the under 15 National Development squad and Member of the Spinning squad Jayasinghe Arachchige Sachin Chamuditha Jayasinghe who passed the G.C.E.Ordinary Level Examination recently with flying colours has brought honour and immense glory to his alma mater Royal College Panadura. He was born on 19th March 2004 and admitted to his present school in 2009 when Sarathchandra de Silva was at the helm of the school and his first class teacher was Mrs.Samanthi.

Sachin Chamuditha

Sachin from his young days showed an interest and keenness to cricket and noticing this his parents Indika Jayasinghe and Kumari Perera admitted their son to the school cricket academy at the age of seven years and immediately he came under the coach and Master in Charge of cricket former Vidyalian Sumith Prasanna. He bats right hand and bowls off spin.

In the following year he was selected to the under 13 division three team and in his first year itself he claimed 44 wickets with three five wicket hauls and in the next year he captained the division three team and captured 45 scalps with four five wicket hauls and in 2003 he captained the division two team and passed the 200 run mark with a fifty and bagged 54 wickets with six five wicket hauls and in 2014 he played for the under 13 division one team and took 41 wickets with three five wicket hauls and scored two half centuries and captaining the team in 2017 he notched up 450 runs with a century and two fifties and bagged 17 scalps. During his under 13 career spanning seven years he has claimed 196 wickets with 20 five wicket hauls and perhaps it may be a school record.

He was the Vice Captain of the under 15 cricket team and he scored 210 runs with a fifty and claimed 35 wickets with two five wicket hauls and played for the Kalutara District Zone two in the Prima Cup and in the following year he captained the team and collected 325 runs with two centuries and bagged 15 scalps and played for the District and Provincial Tournaments in the Prima Cup and he was selected for the under 15 National Development squad.

He missed the 2020 and 2021 seasons in the under 17 schools tournament due to Covid 19 and also missed the chance of leading his school in the under 17 tournament.

As an under 15 player he was selected for the first eleven team as the “Baby of the Team” in 2017 and played in two matches and in 2018 he played the full season and scored 445 runs with four fifties and captured 28 wickets with one five wicket haul and in 2019 playing the full season he scored 505 runs with a century and three fifties and carried away the Best Batsman’s Award and also took 27 wickets and played in the Big Match and the Limited Over Match for the second successive year and he was selected for the under 19 spinning and Super Provincial squads.

After Sumith Prasanna’s depature Besil Jenendra, Ayesh de Silva and Dilip Prasanna were coaching the Panadura Royalists. During his career his Principals were Sarathchandra De Silva, Mohanlal Gunaransi, Ranjith Prematilleke and Y.Yasarathne were very supportive with Srilal Nawagamuwa and Suren Lodagoda as Masters in Charge. Ajith Weerasighe and Nalin Wijesinghe were the District coaches and his Provincial coaches were Jeevantha Kulatunge and Wasantha Wijesuriya.

Add new comment