Landslide Warning issued | Daily News

Landslide Warning issued

The National Building Research Organization (NBRO) issued.

Level 2 (Amber) warnings was issued for Badulla and Ratnapura districts. They are:

  • Kegalle District - Mawanella, Kegalle, Yatiyanthota, Dehiowita, Aranayake, Deraniyagala, Rambukkana, Ruwanwella and Galigamuwa

The level 1 yellow Alert was issued for following areas:

  • Kandy District - Udapalatha, Pasbage Korale, Harispattuwa, Udunuwara, Doluwa, Ganga Ihala Korale, Yatinuwara and Gangawata Korale
  • Kurunegala District - Polgahawela, Mawathagama, Mallawapitiya, Alawwa, Rideegama and Narammala
  • Kegalle District - Warakapola and Bulathkohupitiya
  • Matale District - Rattota and Ukuwela
  • Nuwara Eliya District - Kotmale and Ambagamuwa
  • Ratnapura district - Eheliyagoda, Kalawana, Ayagama, Ratnapura, Elapatha, Kuruwita, Nivithigala and Kiriella
  • Kalutara District – Mathugama, Palindanuwara, Dodangoda, Agalawatta and Bulathsinhala

Accordingly, residents in surrounding areas have been warned to be watchful on the possibility of landslides slope failures, rock falls, cutting failures and ground subsidence if the rain continues.

People who are living in or are close to all mountainous areas and man made cut slopes within the relevant DSDs have been asked to pay special attention to the warning.

Add new comment