Fourteen teams vie for honours in Champions League Soccer | Daily News

Fourteen teams vie for honours in Champions League Soccer

Jaswar Umar, President of Football Sri Lanka briefs the media on   the Champions League Soccer Tournament
Jaswar Umar, President of Football Sri Lanka briefs the media on the Champions League Soccer Tournament

A total of 14 teams will be in the fray at the 14th edition of the Champions League Soccer Tournament conducted by the Football Sri Lanka (FSL) which is scheduled for kick-off on May 13 in four centralized venues in four provinces with the participation of some top clubs in the game.

After a lapse of three years, due to the Covid-19 pandemic situation, one of the phenomenal tournaments listed in the FSL calendar will get underway with the participation of six new additional teams after the last edition was restricted only to eight teams.

The grand final is scheduled to be played on August 6 and 7 this year.

Moragasmulla Sports Club, New Star Sports Club, Maligawatta Sports Club, Sri Lanka Police Sports Club, SLTB Sports Club, St. Mary’s Sports Club, Jaffna, and Super Sun Sports Club, Beruwela are the six new entries drafted into this year’s competition. Each team will have to play 13 matches which makes a total of 91 games which are slated to be played in Sugathadasa Stadium, Maligawa Stadium, Kurunegala, Bogambara Stadium, Kandy, and Kotawila Sports Complex in Matara respectively.

Each team will receive a grant of 2.5 million rupees in cash from the governing body for their entire season. A total of 25 players can be registered by a club where three foreign players are eligible to register and are granted permission to play in a match. The FSL has also stipulated that all teams should also include three marque players (under-21) and it is mandatory they should play one of them in a match.

The winner of the tournament will carry away one million rupees while the runner-up will receive 750,000 in cash. This year’s tournament is yet to gain a sponsor and the FSL chief is under discussion of obtaining one in the near future.

As per the FSL President Jaswar Umar this tournament will be conducted under strict terms and conditions which will enable the clubs to target their club license program. “We are glad to resume this tournament after a lapse of three years. The highlight of this tournament will be the inclusion of six new teams which makes a total of 14 teams in the fray. We expect a stiff competition enabling us to scout some of the talented players.

With this tournament, we expect the teams to boom and qualify for the top tier of the tournament conducted by us. This will also allow the clubs to target the club license programme.”

“There won’t be any relegation process this year but the top two teams are likely to be considered for a promotion to the top tier tournaments conducted by us.

We have decided to grant an investment of 2.5 million rupees as a boost for the clubs. By and large, we expect a tough competition among these clubs with our re-start football programme and anticipate concluding the tournament by the first week of August.” Said Jaswar

The teams- Crystal Palace SC, Gampola, Java Lane, Matara City Club, Moragasmulla SC, Negombo Youth FC, New Star SC, Pelicans SC, Saunders SC, Serendib SC, Mawanella, SL Police SC, SLTB SC, St.Mary’s SC, Jaffna, Solid SC, Anuradhapura, Super Sun SC, Beruwala

Add new comment