‘Uththara Lanka Sabhagaya’ launched | Daily News

‘Uththara Lanka Sabhagaya’ launched

The group of independent political parties and Parliamentarians including former Ministers Wimal Weerawansa, Udaya Gammanpila and Vasudeva Nanayakkara yesterday (04) launched their new political alliance, the ‘Uththara Lanka Sabhagaya.

The first general conference of the alliance was held at the National Youth Council premises in Maharagama, during which the party office-bearers of the alliance were announced.

National Freedom Front (NFF) MP Leader Wimal Weerawansa was appointed as the Chairman of the alliance while General Secretary of the Communist Party of Sri Lanka Dr. G. Weerasinghe was appointed as its secretary.

Democratic Left Front (SLF) Leader MP Vasudeva Nanayakkara is the National Organiser of the alliance while Pivithuru Hela Urumaya (PHU) leader MP Udaya Gammanpila, Lanka Sama Samaja Party (LSSP) general Secretary Tissa Vitharana serve as deputy chairmen.

MP Gevindu Kumaratunga was announced as the deputy secretary of the new coalition and MP Ven. Athuraliye Rathana Thero, President of the Vijaya Dharani National Assembly, has been appointed as the Patron of the alliance.

In addition to that, an executive council representing all parties in the coalition has been appointed and this includes NFF national organizer and former state minister Jayantha Samaraweera, NFF MP Mohamed Muzammil and Weerasumana Weerasinghe of the Sri Lanka Communist Party.

Add new comment