Pakistan down Afghanistan in a thriller | Daily News

Pakistan down Afghanistan in a thriller

Pakistan paceman Haris Rauf celebrating the wicket of Rahmanullah Gurbaz
Pakistan paceman Haris Rauf celebrating the wicket of Rahmanullah Gurbaz

The young paceman Naseem Shah hit an unbeaten 14 in 4 balls with two sixes as Pakistan made a thrilling one wicket win with four balls to spare against Afghanistan in their super four cricket fixture of the Asian Cup cricket tournament played at the Sharjah International Cricket Stadium yesterday.

It was a fine game to witness at Sharjah when Pakistan needed to get 11 runs in the final over which was bowled by Fazalhaq Farooqi. Naseem Shah was the man who hit two back to back sixes to seal the victory while they ensured the final birth which will be played on 11 against Sri Lanka at Dubai International Cricket Stadium.Pakistan’s Shadab Khan was the Man of the Match.

Afghanistan were invited to bat first and their openers were hurrying to collect runs as they expected. Rahmanullah Gurbaz (17) and Hazthatullah Zazai (21) added quick 36 in 3.5 overs. The paceman Haris Rauf made the first breakthrough to dismiss Gurbaz.

Ibrahim Zadran was the most successful batter scoring 35 in 37 balls with 2 fours and a six and Rauf got that prized wicket.

The skipper Mohammed Nabi who played his 100 T- 20 was unlucky to dismiss for a duck in the first ball and Young Nazeem Shah got Nabi’s wicket with his length delivery.

However Rashid Khan the bowling all rounder made a quick 18 in 15 balls with 3 fours and a six which enabled them to reach 129 for 6 wickets in 20 overs.

Today India will meet Afghanistan in their last Super Four cricket fixture scheduled to be played in Dubai International Cricket Stadium followed by Sri Lanka-Pakistan match at the same venue on 9 Friday.

Chief scores

Afghanistan 129 for 6 wickets in 20 overs Hazthatullah Zazai 21, Rahmanullah Gurbaz 17, Ibrahim Zadran 35,Karim Janet 15,Najibullah Zadran 10,Azmatullah Omarzai 10, Rashid Khan 18*, Haris Rauf 2/26

Pakistan 131 for 9 wickets in 19.2 overs Mohammed Rizwan 20, Ifthikar Ahmed 30,Sadab Khan 36,Asif Ali 16,Naseem Shah 14*, Fazalhaq Farooqi 3/31,Fareed Ahamad 3/31, Rashid Khan 2/25


Add new comment