Close to half of the 225 MPs absent at vote | Daily News

Close to half of the 225 MPs absent at vote

The Social Security Contribution Levy Bill was passed by a majority of 81 votes in Parliament yesterday (8).

National People’s Power Leader MP Anura Kumara Dissanayake requested for a division at the end of the second reading of the Bill. It received 91 votes in favour and 10 against. Of the 225 MPs, 123 MPs were not present during the vote.

Amendments were added to the bill during the committee session and then the third reading was passed without a vote.

The levy was introduced as a measure to boost government revenue in the budget 2022. This tax is charged at the rate of 2.5% on taxable turnover of wholesalers and retailers who receive an annual turnover over Rs. 120 mn. The expected revenue from this tax per year is Rs. 140 bn.

The Bill was published in the Gazette on June 21,2022 and the then Finance Minister presented it to Parliament on July 6, 2022.




Add new comment