Colombo South win inaugural title | Daily News

Colombo South win inaugural title

Colombo South extended their winning streak by defeating Galle by 8 wickets in the final to win the first edition of the Girls' Under 19 Youth League Twenty20 tournament at the Dambulla Stadium yesterday.

Having a target of 82 to chase, CS opener Nethmi Senarathne finished unbeaten on 50 to earn an 8-wicket victory. She was the aggressor throughout the innings completing the chase in just 13.2 overs while her opening partner Navodya Jayasinghe was dismissed on 2 by Vihara Sewwandi. Rasini Perera got run out for 13 in the 11th over.

Nethmi faced 44 balls for her score which included 6 fours. She was awarded the Player of the Match.

All-rounder Navodya Jayasinghe (3/10 in 3.5 overs), Tharushi Fernando (2/15 in 4 overs), Manudi Nanayakkara (2/22 in 4 overs), and Mihidi Sanuduni (2/12 in 4 overs) also performed well with the ball.

Scores: Colombo South: 82 in 13.2 overs (Nethmi Senarathne 50*, Rasini Perera 13) Galle: 81 in 19.5 overs (Sanjana Kavindi 12, Sasini Gimhani 12, Navodya Jayasinghe 3/10, Tharushi Fernando 2/15, Manudi Nanayakkara 2/22, Mihidi Sanuduni 2/12)

Awards: Player of the Series - Dewmi Vihanga - Dambulla, Best Batswomen - Sumudu Nisansala - Galle, Best Bowler - Nipuni Navodya - Colombo South, Player of the Match - Nethmi Senarathne - Colombo South.


Add new comment