Cream of soccer talent on show at Zahira Super 7s | Daily News

Cream of soccer talent on show at Zahira Super 7s

All captains of the 16 participating teams. (Pic courtesy
All captains of the 16 participating teams. (Pic courtesy

The cream of Sri Lanka’s youth football talent will be on show at the 16th Annual Deedat Zahira Super-16 Under-18 Seven-A-Side Football Tournament on October 1 at the Race course Grounds in Colombo.

This tournament is conducted by the Past Prefects’ Association of Zahira College, Colombo and sponsored by Deedat, Trainocate and the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA).

This year of course, the event will be conducted on a low profile and the organising committee has decided to invite those schools only from the Western Province due to the current situation in the country.

Therefore, 16 leading, football playing schools from the Western Province will be part of this prestigious tournament for the 16th time where the youngsters will get a chance and opportunity to showcase their talents, skills, and abilities at a larger scale.

The other significant feature of this tournament is that it is played at a venue where international football is played and so the youngsters will get the opportunity to adhere to the atmosphere of such venues and play in front of a huge crowd.

In addition, a tournament of such calibre will be a big opportunity for the youngsters to perform and catch the eyes of the FSL National Selectors. In fact, this tournament will be officiated by experts in local and foreign football who are recommended by the Educational Ministry and Football Sri Lanka.

The tournament was last held in 2020 at the same venue and St. Joseph’s College, Colombo edged out Gateway College, Colombo by a solitary goal in the Cup Championship final.

The Josephians also carried away two special awards of the 2020 tournament as Shenal Sandesh was named Most Valuable Player and Kavinda Rupasinghe won the Man-of-the-Match Award.

In addition, Dwayne De Mel of Gateway College was selected as the Best Goalkeeper of the Tournament with Zahira College securing the third place. Maris Stella College defeated St. Benedict’s College in the Plate final;

Wesley College overcame Royal College in the Bowl final and Isipathana College had the better of Hindu College, Colombo in the Shield final. More details about the tournament could be obtained from the Past Prefects’ Association’s website and Media Coordinator Muzni Munas on telephone: 0770782783.

The teams participating:

Group ‘A’ – St. Joseph’s College, Al-Hikma College, Maris Stella College and Hindu College.

Group ‘B’ – S. Thomas’ College, Lyceum, Nugegoda, St. Benedict’s College and Alethea School.

Group ‘C’ – Zahira College, Darussalaam College, De Mazenod College and D. S. Senanayake College.

Group ‘D’ – Gateway College, Wesley College, Royal College and Isipathana College.

Add new comment