Coin tossed to select new PS chairman | Daily News

Coin tossed to select new PS chairman

The provincial Local Government Commissioner of Central Province had to toss a coin to decide the chairman of Gangawata Korale Pradeshiya Sabha in Kandy yesterday as the candidates nominated from the United National Party and the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna got equal votes in the vote to elect the Chairman.

Sisira Ranasinghe of the United National Party, who won the toss of the coin, became the chairman.

The position was vacant due to the death of D.A.Dharmasena, who was the chairman.

As some SLPP members accused that one of their own members namely Ravipriya Chamikara had voted for the UNP candidate during the polls a tense situation arose, and the police had to be called to control the situation.

Add new comment