Kandy SC reign supreme at League tournament | Daily News

Kandy SC reign supreme at League tournament

Kandy Sports Club rugby team is the only club to win the league title on highest number of times. They have a good winning record in the game and have secured more wins than losses against every opponent in the last twenty eight years in the League.

The Kandy Sports Club rugby side is the most successful side of all-time with a winning percentage. Since playing the league tournament from 1950, it was in 1994 that they won the first league title and from that win have amassed numerous accolades and are considered one of the most prolific teams.This clubs rise began with the arrival of one of the major rugby promoter who gave a big hand for the success that is former Royal College, CR & FC, Colombo Clubs and Sri Lanka player Malik Devapriya Samarawickrama. He is a key figure behind everything as Kandy SC won the Clifford Cup for the first time in 1992 and the League for the first time in 1994.

Kandy SC is a club with a long and proud history and that history may have counted very little if not for Malik. It took 44 years for the Nittawela club to win the league title and become almost an invincible force in the rugby field by ending the dominance of the Colombo based clubs. This club which was founded in 1874 as Kandy Athletic, Boating, Cricket, Football and Dancing Club and after 14 years the name was changed to Kandy SC.

This season they played three games and won all three against Sri Lanka Army, CR & FRC and Sri Lnka Air Force and they are regarded as the most successful club rugby team in the country having won 22 league titles. Kandy Sports club enjoys the largest fan following with massive crowd turnouts every time they play. The present defending champions of the competition their rugby committee headed by Lasantha Wijasuriya a former captain of the club and led by Damith Disanayake are blessed with a good set of players and Coach Fazil Marija and assistant coach Tharaka Algama have done their part well. The Kandy SC committee under the presidency of Mahesh Weerasinghe who has a committee with a good knowledge is backing well.

This club with the most wins of the rugby league title is the most successful club in the Sri Lanka Rugby Championship, winning 22 league titles in the last twenty eight years in the period between 1994 to 2022, with the highest number of wins since the expanded competition commenced in 1950. Kandy SC is a club with a long and proud history.

The players who are giving their best at the present are Damith Dissanayake, Nigel Ratwatte, Kavindu Perera, Srinath Sooriyabandara, Tharinda Ratwatte, Lasitha Attangoda, Heshan Kalhara, Tharindu Chathuranga, Anuruddha Wilavera, Yakoob Ali, Charles Praveen, Malitha Rashmika, Milan Weerasinghe, Lavanga Perera, Oshan Perera, Lakshitha Ranaweera, Thilina Bandara, Diluksha Dange, Chamika Perera, Uchitha Jayasooriya, S. Monishan, Sanushka Abeyawickrema, Bawantha Udangamuwa, Heshan Jansen, Chatura Soysa, Bawantha Dharmapala, Asiri Seneviratne, Rumesh Premathilake, Nimesh Premathilake, Sahan Wijesinghe, Dinal Ekanayake, Kavishka Bandara. The team manager is Kapila Silva.


Add new comment