Awarding of Akthapathra to new Atamsthanadhipathi on January 28 | Daily News

Awarding of Akthapathra to new Atamsthanadhipathi on January 28

Atamasthanadhipathi  Most Ven. Pallegama Hemarathana Nayaka Thera
Atamasthanadhipathi Most Ven. Pallegama Hemarathana Nayaka Thera

The ceremonial awarding of the Akthapathra (the act of appointment) to the recently elected Anuradhapura Chief Incumbent of the eight places of worship (Atamasthana) Most Venerable, Chief Sanga Nayaka of Nuwara Kalaviya Pallegama Hemarathana Nayaka Thera will take place on January 28 with President Ranil Wickremesinghe and Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena participating as the chief guests.

At a special meeting convened at Boo Maluwa temple with the Maha Vihara Maha Sangha including Ruwanweli Chethiyaramadhipathi Ven. Ethalwetunawewa Gnanathilaka Thera, Lankarama Chethiyaramadhipathi Ven. Ralapanawe Dhammajothi Thera, Jethawana Chethiyaramadhipathi Ven. Ihala Halmillewe Rathanapala Thera, Abayagiri Chethiyaramadhipathi Ven. Dr. Kallanchiye Rathnasiri Thera, Mirisawetiya Chethiyaramadhipathi Ven. Welihene Sobhitha Thera, Thuparama Viharadhipathi Ven. Kahalle Ganindha Thera, Issurumuniya temple’s Chief Incumbent Ven. Mathawa Sri Sumangala Thera, Anuradhapura Sambudhdha Jayanthi temple Chief Incumbent Ven. Nugethenne Pangnanandha Thera and Chief Sangha Nayaka of Singapore Ven. Alawwe Gunarathana Nayaka Thera participating.

The Maha Sangha headed by the new Atamasthanadhipathi Nayaka Thera decided that since this prestigious religious ceremony is to be conducted with adherence to the historic religious norms and criteria, there was no harm for holding it under the auspices of the state.

The Maha Sangha also were unanimous in opinion that the ceremony shall be held is as simple as possible manner, adhering to the rituals and customs, sans extravagant ceremonial activities, preserving the dignity and reverence of the position of Atamasthanadhipathi and the Boo Maluwa temple.

Secretary of the Buddhasasana Ministry, Somaratne Vidanapathirana, Buddhist Affairs Commissioner General Sunanda Kariyapperuma, Chief Secretary Chandrasiri Bandara, Anuradhapura Government Agent Janaka Jayasundara and Senior Assistant Secretary of the Presidential Secretariat Sudheera Thilanga Vithana were present. Parliamentarians S.M. Chandrasena, Dumindha Dissanayake and Rohana Bandara were also present.


Add new comment