I will work for progress of the game, says Sri Ranga | Daily News

I will work for progress of the game, says Sri Ranga

I have no political agendas and will work for the development of Football and the benefit of players said newly elected Football Federation of Sri Lanka (FFSL) President J. Sri Ranga in an exclusive interview with the Daily News yesterday.

Ranga, a former television presenter and former parliamentarian and president of the Mannar Football League, obtained 27 votes. His rival, Jagath Kumara de Silva of the Nawalapitiya Football League, received 24 votes.

My intention is very clear to work for all. We have to work for all football leagues to develop this sport said the new FFSL Chief. Yesterday the Tai Pongal day I received 52 wishes from the leagues and that was a good sign and hope all of them will work with us to develop this sport.

I knew what happened during the last Football Administration and wanted to work for benefit of the game. Football is the game of the poor people and we must give assistance for all. I don't like to talk about corruption.

We have the plan to get committee decisions and after I assume duties next week we will discuss and start our duties.

My new Secretary and all the other officials are willing to go forward.

Football is the most followed sport in the world, even in Sri Lanka. But due to corruption in our administration, we are ranked 207 in the world. Meanwhile, other South Asian countries received grants of US$8 million, and Sri Lanka only received half of it. That too had been misused by the previous administration. My task, as the new FFSL President, is to get rid of corruption added Ranga.

Anyone coming to serve football has to work on an honorary basis and there should be transparency in all our actions. I intend to practice that, so our task will become easy,” he said.

Four Vice Presidents and a Deputy General Secretary – Technical were elected, but the positions of Deputy General Secretary – Technical and Assistant Treasurer went vacant. A total of 56 Football Leagues were eligible to vote in this election.

The post of Secretary was secured by THS Indika from the south who won by seven votes having received 29 votes while his rival Emmanuel Arnold from the North received 22 votes.

The post of Treasurer was uncontested with the opponent withdrawing from the contest, while the four posts of vice presidents were also uncontested. Those who were uncontested were Priyantha Weerasinghe, Dilshan Nagahawatte and Deepika Kumari.

There was a close contest for the post of Assistant Secretary, (Technical) with SRMM Assard from Puttalam receiving 25 votes while MHM Nawzil received 24 votes.

Add new comment