India clean sweep Lanka 3-0 | Daily News

India clean sweep Lanka 3-0

Largest victory margin in ODIs
The two centurions: Virat Kohli and Shubman Gill
The two centurions: Virat Kohli and Shubman Gill

Virat Kohli (166 n.o.) and Shubman Gill (116) hit centuries as India recorded a massive 317-run win over Sri Lanka to whitewash the series 3-0 in their third and final ODI cricket fixture played at Thiruvananthapuram yesterday. This was India's highest victory margin against any team and Kholi also recorded the highest number of centuries (10) against Sri Lanka (highest against any other country) as well as passed the Sri Lankan former skipper Mahela Jayawardena's ODI runs who was the fifth highest ODI scorer earlier.

The Indians decided to bat first and they dominated the innings scoring 390 for 5 wickets in 50 overs. Earlier, the visitors had only nine wickets to play with as Ashen Bandara did not come in out bat after the injury and Sri Lanka were bowled out for 73 in just 22 overs to get a record victory to seal the series.

Sri Lankan had to chase a massive target of 391 but their batters were not up to the expectations from the start and after ten overs they were struggling at 39 for five wickets as half a side were back to the pavilion, especially paceman Mohammed Siraj was leading the way to finish 4 for 32 in his 10 over spell while well supported by wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav 2 for 16 in his five overs spell and paceman Mohammed Sami who finished 2 for 20 in his 6 over spell.

Skipper Dasun Shanaka was bowled by Kuldeep and cricket experts highly appreciated Kuldeep's ball to dismiss Shanaka which was a big turn into the wicket from the outside-the-line of off stump.

In fact, only three batters Nuwanidu Fernando (19), Skipper Dasun Shanaka (11), and Kasun Rajitha once again unbeaten on 13 were able to complete double figures while Chamika Karunaratne was unnecessarily run out for 1 (6 balls) and Indian bowlers dominated the game. Ashen Bandara did not come to bat with his injury while Dunith Wellalage was able to score only 3 runs in 13 balls when he came in as a replacement for Jeffrey Vandersay. Both Jeffery Vandersay and Ashen Bandara were taken to the hospital to obtain scans said an official of Sri Lanka Cricket.

Virat Kohli who played an anchor role was named Man of the Match as well as the Player of the Series as he scored 283 runs with two centuries.

It was a superb batting display by the Indians. Experienced right hander Kohli was outstanding and reached his 46th ODI century continued his innings to end up making 166 in 110 balls and struck 13 fours and 8 sixes all round the grounds. In fact in the last over, bowled by paceman Lahiru Kumara Kohli used his experience to hit two sixes and a four to make 18 runs while his last 66 runs was scored in only 25 balls which saw his acceleration of the innings.

Skipper Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill put on a solid start putting 95 run stand in 15.2 overs and Chamika Karunaratne got the breakthrough to dismiss Sharma scoring 42 in 49 balls with Avishka Fernando taking a catch at deep backward square leg in the 16th over to dismiss Sharma.

Gill and Kohli played excellent knocks to build up their innings while Gill the 23 year old right hander recorded his second ODI century which came on 89 balls with 11 fours and 2 sixes. The pair added 131 runs to accelerate the run rate. Gill was out for 116 clean bowled by Kasun Rajitha in the 34th over and Kohli took charge to build up his innings with more confidence.

In the fifth ball of the 42 over bowled by Chamika Karunaratne Sri Lankan two fielders Ashen Bandara and Jeffery Vandersay unfortunately had a collision near the boundary when they attempted to save a boundary. Vandersay had a concussion and was substituted by Dunith Wellalage.

In the last ten overs, Indians added 116 runs with Kohli was leading the way with a sparkling knock of 166.

Two pacemen Kasun Rajitha took two wickets each but both gave away 81 and 87 rubs in their ten overs spells while Chamika Karunaratne took 1 for 58 in his 8 over spell.

Both India and Sri Lanka made two changes each while off spinner Washington Sundar and hard hitter Suryakumar Yadav replaced Umran Malik and Hardik Pandya while Sri Lanka gave a chance to Jeffery Vandersay and Ashen Bandara for Dunith Wellalage and Dhananjaya de Silva.

Add new comment