House moves Condolence Motions on four late MPs | Daily News

House moves Condolence Motions on four late MPs

The House moved condolence motions on four late Parliamentarians - Upali Dasanayake, Dr. Nevil Fernando, Gunaratna Weerakoon and Raja Collure, yesterday (20).

The motions were moved by Leader of the House Minister Susil Premajayantha.

He said that late MP Upali Marvin Senarath Dasanayake did a great service to the country by working as a Member of Parliament, a famous businessman as well as a competitive motorcyclist.

“In 1981, Upali Senarath started his political activities from the Kurunegala District and entered politics as a Member of Parliament after winning the election in 1988. He had done a great service to the people by working as the Parliamentary Affairs State Minister,” Minister Premajayantha said.

“MP Upali Senarath was also the founder of Pannala Super Cross Track, the first motorbike race track in Sri Lanka. He contributed to establish factories such as Brandix and Sim Line in Pannala. The income of the Super Cross Bicycle Tournament was allocated for the welfare of disabled War Heroes,” he said.

Minister Premajayantha said that Dr. Neville Fernando, who passed away at 78, entered Parliament in 1977 from Panadura. Dr. Fernando took the initiative to build Panadura Modarowila Industrial Park, Panadura Ketumathi Women's Hospital, Panadura Prime Minister's Girls College, Panadura Royal College and Modarawila Apartment Complex.”

Minister Premajayantha also said that Dr. Neville Fernando's No-Confidence Motion against a former Opposition Leader Amirthalingam, became the first ever such Motion against a parliamentary opposition leader. He became a well-known figure in the last few years because of the Neville Fernando Teaching Hospital and the SAITM Private University built by him. He passed away on February 4, 2021 of COVID,” the Minister said.

 “MP Gunaratne Weerakoon, who contested from the Galle District and entered Parliament as a politician of the people, served the people of Galle, Karandeniya for 11 years and passed away on December 25, 2021.

“MP Raja Collure, who served as the Governor of the North Western Province until his death, passed away on December 7, 2021 of COVID- at 83,” the Leader of the House expressed his condolences to the four MPs and their families.

United National Party (UNP) MP Vajira Abeywardena, joining the condolence debate, said that MP Raja Collure, who held various positions in the Communist Party, was a humanitarian in the truest sense of the word.

MP Vajira Abeywardena stated that a great change was brought about in Parliament because of the words that MP Collure expressed quietly without making a scene, and that he was a member of Parliament who had kept his opinion unchanged.

 “MP Gunaratne Weerasekera was a politician who has rendered great service to Karandeniya, Galle. MP Upali Dasanayake was  a distinguished political figure who had rendered a great service to the Kurunegala District and the business field,” Abeywardena said.

MP Abeywardena also expressed his condolences for Member of Parliament Neville Fernando and said that the private university concept he started was a very good opportunity. “Dr. Neville Fernando had the self-confidence to express the right opinion even if it created serious protesting. 

He thought that Sri Lanka should be an educational centre in Asia. He always said to compete with the world,” he said.

MP Abeywardena observed that his personal condolences, the condolences of the UNP and the condolences of President Ranil Wickremesinghe are extended to the four families.


Add new comment