President instructs implementation of a youth-led development plan | Daily News

President instructs implementation of a youth-led development plan

President Ranil Wickremesinghe has instructed to implement a youth-led development project covering the entire country to make Sri Lanka a developed country by the 100th Independence Celebration (2048) through youth ideas, skills and interventions. This is in conjunction with the 75th Independence Day, under the theme, ‘National Youth Platform’.

A discussion regarding this programme was held at the Presidential Secretariat on Thursday (19).

During this discussion, plans related to the development of the major cities in each district as tourist cities formulated by the lecturers and students of all the universities were presented to the President.

Accordingly, the Jaffna and Vavuniya University, focusing on the Jaffna district and the Kelaniya University and Rajarata University presented tourism plans related to the Anuradhapura district.

The Ruhuna University, Sabaragamuwa University and Sir John Kotelawala Defence University jointly submitted plans for the Galle districts and the Colombo University, Sri Jayawardenepura University, University of Fine Arts and the Moratuwa University jointly submitted their plans for the Colombo district.

Peradeniya, Wayamba and Uva Wellassa Universities jointly presented the plans related to the Kandy district while the Eastern and South Eastern Universities presented the plans for the Batticaloa district.

Expressing his appreciation for all the plans that were submitted, the President said that private-sector financial assistance could also be sought to support this programme.

Pointing out that it is a very good trend for the university community to contribute to the development of the country, Wickremesinghe appreciated the university community’s involvement in these projects and commended their contribution.

Senior Advisor to the President on National Security and Chief of Staff to the President Sagala Ratnayake, Secretary to the President Saman Ekanayake, Chairman of the University Grants Commission Prof.Sampath Amaratunga, Finance Ministry Secretary Mahinda Siriwardena, University Vice-Chancellors and officers of line institutions joined this virtual discussion.

Add new comment