Oshada and Sandun help Kandy to pile up 554/7 | Daily News

Oshada and Sandun help Kandy to pile up 554/7

Sandun  Weerakkody-Oshada Fernando
Sandun Weerakkody-Oshada Fernando

Oshada Fernando made a superb knock of 201 while Sandun Weerakkody hit 144 as Kandy made a mammoth total of 554 for 7 wickets at close in their National Super League cricket fixture played at SSC grounds yesterday.

The two overnight batters Oshada Fernando the 30-year-old right hander and wicketkeeper Sandun Weerakkody added a remarkable 146 runs for the third wicket to build up the innings. Weerakkody who scored 144 in 154 balls with 18 fours and 4 sixes was the first to depart today as Nisala Taraka made the breakthrough to dismiss Weerakkody. Skipper Sahan Arachchige scored 32 while Oshada continued his marathon innings to complete a well-deserved double century which came in 287 balls with 23 fours and a six and was finally out caught by skipper Nipun Dhananjaya off paceman Nisala Tharaka who finished the day with 3 for 106.

Former Royal skipper Ahan Wickramasinghe played a fine supporting role as number seven batsman one run short of a well-deserved century and he struck 13 fours and 3 sixes in his 85-ball innings.

Meanwhile, two fighting knocks by skipper Ramesh Mendis (60) and Kavishka Anjula (69) as middle-order batters while experienced Angelo Mathews hit 82 as Galle scored 339 and Dambulla were shot out for 155 and 47 for 2 wickets at close in their game played at R.Premadasa International Stadium.

Chief scores 

At SSC grounds.

Colombo first innings: 214

Kandy: 554 for 7 wickets at close (Lasith Croosepulle 29, Oshada Fernando 201, Sandun Weerakkody 144, Sahan Arachchige 32, Ahan Wickramasinghe 99*, Nisala Taraka 3/106)

*At R. Premadasa International Stadium.

Dambulla: 155 and 47 for 2 wickets at close (Nimesh Gunasinghe 29, Dilan Jayalath 13*, Milan Ratnayake 1/24, Ramesh Mendis 1/1)

Galle: 339 (Hashan Dumindu 37, Angelo Matthews 82, Pasindu Sooriyabandara 19, Vishad Randika 19, Ramesh Mendis 60, Kavishka Anjula 69, Milan Ratnayake 11, Praveen Jayawickrama 29, Asitha Fernando 3/70, Vishwa Fernando 3/75, Chalana de Silva 2/69)

Add new comment