Sangamitta Balika, Matale under 16 stickers joint champions | Daily News

Sangamitta Balika, Matale under 16 stickers joint champions

The Sangamitta Balika Vidyalaya, Matale team with the officials
The Sangamitta Balika Vidyalaya, Matale team with the officials

Sangamitta Balika Vidyalaya, Matale under 16 stickers emerged joint champions with Musaeus College, Colombo at the all Island Girks/Boys inter School Hockey tournament, organised and conducted by the Sri-Lanka Schools Hockey Association, played at Rangiri Dambulla ground recently.

Around 22 Schools took part in this tournament, Sangamitta Balika Vidyalaya, Matale were playing in the “ A “ group along with Musaeus College, Colombo, Kaikawela Balika, Matale, Swarnamali Balika, Kandy, and Sandalankawa Balika.

In the group matches they lost to Musaeus College, Colombo, beat Kaikawela Balika Vidyalaya by four goals to nil and drew with Swarnamali Balika and Sandalankawa Balika.

Qualifying for the quarter final becoming runner up in group “ A “ , they beat Rangiri Dambulla National School by one goal to nil and in the Semi final they beat Christ Church National School by two goals to nil. Sangamitta Balika , Matale was to meet Musaeus College, Colombo in the final, unfortunately due to bad light the match had to be called off and the officials decided to declare both teams as joint champions at this tournament.

Principal, Janaki Ratnaweera , a live wire behind the development of Hockey took a keen interest along with POG Padmika Kulatunga, MIC Damayanthi Wijesinghe, Assistant Principal’s Priyadharshani Jayakodiarachchi, Gowri Shanmuganathan, Deupry Principal’s Harshani Illukumbura and Chandrika Gunathilaka to provide all the necessary facilities for these lasses, where they in turn proved their talents to be one of the best teams at this tournament and bring honour and glory to the School and the district of Matale, which is a household name in Hockey.

The Sangamitta Balika under 16 stickers from- Jayanthi Dunuweera, Yeshani Bandara , Yeshani Bulathwaththa, Nikini Jayasinghe, Chanchala Dodanwela, Nethmi Wijesinghe, Dihaya Gamagedara, Vishmi Ganesundera ( Capt ) , Pabasara Balasooriya, Sewani Nadiratne, Asini Galappaththi, Duwini Kodithuwakku, Dinithi Puyunali. 

Add new comment