Unbeaten Kandy SC brimming with confidence | Daily News

Unbeaten Kandy SC brimming with confidence

The Kandy Sports Club Rugby team is one of the finest rugby teams in Sri Lanka. The team as usual is a powerhouse of rugby. This club is the highest winners in league competition. And in this season they have won all the six games they played in the first round, in which they have scored 23 tries, 13 conversations and four penalties.

The most wins of the rugby league title is achieved by Kandy Sports Club since 1994. This club has been the most successful club in the Sri Lanka Rugby Championship, winning 22 league titles in the last twenty eight years in the period between 1994 to 2022, which is the most wins by any club since the expanded competition commenced in 1950. The years they won are 1994, 1995, 1997, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, and 2022.

At Kandy SC rugby is always played in a truly sportsman like manner by the players of this club, due to the backing given by the Committee and fans. Kandy SC is a club with a long and proud history and it took 42 years for this club to win a trophy and become almost an invincible force in the rugby field, their first trophy was in 1992 when they won the Clifford Cup knockouts, and it was in 1994 they won the league title for the first time.

This club was founded in 1874 as Kandy Athletic, Boating, Cricket, Football and Dancing Club and after 14 years the name was changed to Kandy SC, now the most successful rugby team, after playing the first league competition in 1950 it was in 1994 they won the first trophy. For the first time Kandy Sports Club entered the final in 1954 under the captaincy of S.B. Pilapitiya but lost to CR & FC in the final, and once again the following year 1955 under the captaincy of Jeff Macpherson, too they went down to CR & FC in the final.Then the next final was after 14 years in 1969 losing to CR and FC by 6-12.

This season the players gave an impressive performance ending as the only undefeated side, a big hand should go to their committee headed by Mahesh Weerasinghe and his able committee members, then the chairman of rugby Lasantha Wijesuriya and the coaching team headed by Fazil Marija, Assistant coach Buddhika Thalagampola. This time they played most of the matches without their top players as most of them are in the injured list and beat Army SC, Navy SC, Air Force SC, Police SC, CR and FC, CH & FC and brimming with confidence after their unbeaten run and on Saturday the 28th will confront Havelock SC in Colombo in their last first round game.


Add new comment