Fifty more centres to issue passports soon | Daily News

Fifty more centres to issue passports soon

Public Security Minister Tiran Alles said yesterday that the Government has decided to establish 50 regional centers for issuing passports. The Minister stated that currently four regional offices Vavuniya, Kurunegala, Matara  and Kandy other than the head office in Colombo are handling the issuance of passports and 50 more new centers will be established at Divisional Secretariats to make the process of issuing passports more efficient.

The Minister said this while participating in the press conference held at the Public Security MInistry premises at Battaramulla.

Any applicant can visit this office and give her or his biometric and the photographs and get their passport delivered right to their doorstep.

The Department of Immigration and Emigration will introduce an e-passport with an electronic chip that includes bio data of the owner and it will be used in all countries of the world.

The department has already begun the basic activities in this regard.

The Minister also said that steps will be taken to digitize the work of the Immigration and Emigration Department.



Add new comment